Tuesday, March 21, 2023
Home Top News Young Filmmakers Fellowship releases list of finalists

Young Filmmakers Fellowship releases list of finalists

by Editorial Team
0 comment

By Hussein Kiganda

Ten filmmakers were presented as the finalists in the Young Filmmakers Fellowship Program at the Film Journalists Conference Share 101 that was held at the Media Challenge Initiative at Tirupati Mazima Mall in Kabalagala, Kampala on August 31.

The programme is an initiative of Reach A Hand Uganda (RAHU) and is aimed at promoting young talent in the film industry.

Under the programme, 10 emerging filmmakers are trained in film production and funded ($500, about sh2m) to make one short film each, which films will compete in one category.

The winning short film will bag $20,000 (about sh76m), which will enable the winner to make a feature film in which the rest will appear.

Presenting the finalists, RAHU boss Humphrey Nabimanya told the audience that they had over 130 applicants and after looking through their work, they chose the 10 as having the best ideas.

Below are the 10 young filmmakers

Joan Nakanjako (Nourah)
Joseph Innocent Ediegu (Tokiriza)
Doryn Mirembe (Mama Range)
Eunice Acan (Paradise in Hell)
Frank Kuteesa (Children of the Mother Pot)
Kate Nafuna (The Crossroad)
Tayo Shonubi (Wink Murder)
Ukasha Abybkr (What of Us?)
Emma Ochwo (Flowers Say Goodbye)
Frederick Achura Emmanuel (Deathnote)

You may also like