Tuesday, March 21, 2023
Home Entertainment Ugandan filmmakers elect new office bearers

Ugandan filmmakers elect new office bearers

by Editorial Team
0 comment

By Hussein Kiganda

Ugandan Filmmakers under the umbrella ‘Pearlwood’ elected its new leaders on Wednesday, June 22, 2022, at its first Annual General Meeting (AGM) at The National Theatre.

With a membership of 53 film producers, 125 actors, 72 Bibanda Owners, and 415 Distributors, their AGM started in the morning with the election of new leaders of different guilds and later on proceeded with the presentation of the general report.

The umbrella elected Aisha Namatovu as the president of the Producers’ Guild, Samson Awotunde as her Vice, and Taddeo Ssesimba as the Secretary-General. Eunice Acan was voted president of the Actors’ Guild, Emmanuel Agaba as the Vice, and Margret Nsereko as the General Secretary. For the Video Hall Operators’ Guild, Julius Ssegawa was voted president, John Musazi as the Vice, and Hussein Kigenyi as the Secretary-General.

The newly elected leaders will hold their positions for a term of three years after which another election will be held.

The Executive Secretary of Pearlwood, Julius Bwanika, urged the newly elected leaders to serve with integrity and truth.

Some of the members present during the Annual General Meeting (AGM) at the National Theatre. Photo by Hussein Kiganda

“Ensure that you never lose your integrity, be dependable, and always focus to serve with impact. Let us build an institution big enough to take care of not only us, but even the generation to come,”Bwanika said.

Pearlwood is led by the Board of Directors made up of Julius Bwanika  as the Executive Secretary and other Board members such as Tony Lutakome, Solomon Nsubuga, Ruth Kurt Avalon, Moses Ssebanyiga, Samuel Keweesa, and Kizito Tabula. However, other board members will be voted in the next two months.

The was graced by Juliana Naumo, the Director of Gender and Community Development at the Ministry of Gender, Labour and Social Development, who was the Chief Guest. Officials from the Uganda Registrations Services Bureau (URSB), Uganda National Cultural Centre, National Culture Forum, Operation Wealth Creation, and several more.

You may also like