Wednesday, March 22, 2023
Home Entertainment AFRIMMA 2022: Sheebah, Nwagi, Kenzo nominated

AFRIMMA 2022: Sheebah, Nwagi, Kenzo nominated

by Editorial Team
0 comment

By Ahmad Muto

The organisers of the African Muzik Magazine Awards (AFRIMMA) have unveiled the list of nominees for the ninth edition of the awards.
It is safe to say Ugandan entertainers the last year one year kept apace with the rest of Africa putting a plethora of exceptional bodies of work whether in studio, concerts, behind the microphone or camera.
Six Ugandan entertainers have populated the list of nominees cutting across the entertainment turf – radio, visual production and singing.
One time BET Award Eddy Kenzo has more or less become a permanent fixture in regards to the awards. He has scored a nomination in the Best Male Artiste East Africa category. The “Tubaale” singer will battle it out with neighbours John Frog (South Sudan), Khaligraph Jones (Kenya), Diamond Platinumz (TZ), Rayvanny (TZ), Otile Brown (Kenya), Meddy (Rwanda), Sat B (Burundi).
The Best Female Artiste category, East Africa has two Ugandan songbirds – Sheebah Karungi & Winnie Nwagi. Not far off a drift given last year, Sheebah was in the same category with another Swangz Avenue artiste, Vinka. Sheebah and Nwagi also have competition from neighbours Femi One (Kenya), Zuchu(Tanzania), Jovial (Kenya), Maua Sama (Tanzania), Sanaipei Tande(Kenya), Nandy (Tanzania).
Sasha Vybz returns as a nominee again following his nomination in 2021. He is in the same category as last year, Best Video Director, and will be battling it out with Anurin Nwunebom (Cameroon), Enos Olik (Kenya), TG Omori(Nigeria), Rex (Ghana), Hanscana(TZ), Patrick Elis (Nigeria), Dammy Twitch (Nigeria).
The Ghetto Kids also scored a nomination, replacing the Masaka Kids Africa who represented Uganda in 2021. The Ghetto Kids will be flexing for the award with eight other dancers/groups from across the continent.
Provocative and polarizing media personality, James Onen a.k.a Fatboy returns with another nomination this year following one last year. He has competition in Big Brother Naija host, (Nigeria), Konnie Toure (Ivory Coast), DJ Slim(Ghana), Do2tun(Nigeria), Afonso Quintas(Angola), Jamal Ghadafi (Kenya), Serwa Amihere(Ghana).

Note that there is AFRIMA and AFRIMMA. The former is organized under the auspices of the African Union (AU) and is hosted here in Africa, while AFRIMMA has its home in Dallas, Texas, USA.

This will be the first in-person ceremony after two years of virtual award ceremonies because of the Covid-19 pandemic. This years will take place on November 19, 2022 at the Gilley’s Event Center in Dallas, Texas, USA

You may also like